Police recruitment -Could you?

Rachael Steves - 15:22 29 October 2008

I think these adverts challenge the audience, in a similar way to the Army adverts. Its highlighting the downfall of others to allow the audience to review themselves and ultimately say 'yes I can do that' or 'No way'. Any Advert that forces the audience to question thereself is likely to be quite impactful. My only bugbear is the masculine theme, unless of course the campaign was to drive male recruitment.

richard - 15:28 30 October 2008

glad to see you posting this Gemma - now get others to make comments...of course in isloation it does seem masculine but of course it was part of a bigger campaign that did have female spokespersons too ....

Sarah Layfield - 19:03 30 October 2008

I think that most people would be aware of the hard and negative aspects of the job such as the one discussed here, and personally I think the advert aims to gain some kind of 'yes I could' response. I'm not necessarily sure that an advert in itself could persuade to join the police or become a PCSO, but it certainly raises awareness and may drive individuals to find out more about a career in this service. As a secondary aim, I feel that PCSOs in particular have come under fire from the public, with negative publicity such as the two PCSOs who were said to 'allow a child to drown' because they had not had the training to deal with it. Perhaps, then, this advert seeks to remind the public what a difficult job the police actually have.

Phie - 20:08 05 November 2008

I competely agree with the guy, I couldn't do the job either. This is why I really respect people who can deal with issues such as child abuse etc. I think the advert also influences viewers to have some respect for the police (which to be honest, some lack). It illuminates the tough nature that the job entails.

Anonymous - 21:28 05 November 2008

This advert is short and precise. It gets straight to the point resulting in the greatest impact possible. However, it does seem to have a second role and this is showing the difficult nature of being a policeman. This therefore suggests we should learn to respect them and be grateful for the job they do.

Alex - 00:40 06 November 2008

What does this represent for the police? Hard hitting, inspirational and a campaign directed towards the calm and collected individuals who don't get angry about domestic violence? Really? This is a good ideal to live up to but in terms of persuasion it is clear that using a celebrity figure who males would aspire to be is going to boost its popularity. Being 'more composed' than Lennox Lewis is quite a challenging task given his status as a world renowned boxer and the fact he seems ironically 'composed' on his chair. Is this advert just appealing to the male ego whilst simultaneously creating a sense of awe about the job? What about domestic violence towards men?? What urge would a woman have to join the police force after watching this... all it seems to infer is that that females are weak and incapable of defending themselves and that some brave man should jump in and help. There's absolutely no incentive in there for a woman to join the police! It only appeals to macho men who want to prove themselves and be more 'cool' than Lennox Lewis.

Anna - 11:18 06 November 2008

It doesn't persuade me that I could do this job but that means it's worked by narrowing down their target audience. If this advert appeals to someone then it's because they have the qualities that the police are looking for and it encourages them to apply or think about a career in this area. As someone else said, it also makes me respect the police more for they kinds of issues they have to deal with.

Vicki - 15:25 06 November 2008

I do believe that this would have been a successful advert, it may highlight some negative aspects to being a police officer, but it is just being truthful to the nature of the job. Glamourising would not be a succesful strategy in the long term, it isnt a simple product you can glamourise and then when it doesnt live up to glamourous expectations its just a mild disapointment, it is a long-term career that people need to be fully aware about before considering it as a career. It also works for the public as it shows us exactly how hard a police officers job is - something most people probably take for granted. I remember this campaign from when it ran originally, was there more executions in this campaign? possibly one with a more female orienatated view?

Sarah - 15:34 06 November 2008

I think the advert does target the right people by highlighting the negative aspects of the job. I think it causes the type of people who are right for the job to stand up and say that they are capable of that and in that way it is quite effective in generating action because the people who it would appeal to are likely to want to prove themselves. It also has a positive effect on those who answer no to the question by generating respect for the police force. Overall an effective, but slightly depressing, advert.

Becky - 16:49 06 November 2008

i agree with Vicki, in that it takes away the glamorization aspect that some may think is involved with being a policeman. it must help to filter out people who are not 100% dedicated as personally, it'd put me off wanting to join the force- reminding me that im not what they're looking for, and subsequently making me respect them a lot more as you're reminded of the more serious issues that they have to face. i think this was a brave ad for them to use- i remember the campaign as being different in the sense that it wasn't begging people to join, as many other organisations seem to do by forcing people to buy things they dont really want.

rich - 22:53 06 November 2008

I think any advert which challenges audiences to consider their own values on any issue is going to make an impact on them. When watching it i certainly considered my view on what he was saying and the topics surrounding it. The flaw of masculinity argued by others, to me, is irrelevant. Any man or women is likely to have strong reaction to this advert as it bring into question a very real social problem (domestic abuse) which is widely discussed and is, one would assume, exclusively seen as a problem society needs to deal with. Women are likely to also make a decision about the question the advert overtly asks and i suppose are therefore likely to possibly consider acting on that decision. In terms of police recruitment im not sure an advert is enough to persuade someone to take this career path but i would suggest the advert certainly raises awareness as to the value of police in our society, particularly at a time when many youths have a negative view of our police (the hoody culture as sociologists refer to it).

Abbie - 17:50 07 November 2008

I completely agree with Rich in that the masculinity aspect is irrelevant. The choice of Lennox Lewis was not because of his macho and somewhat intimidating image but instead is referring to the technique and skill behind his profession, ultimately his ability to control in testing times. In reference to whether it persuades me, it has really hit home and has respect written all over it with its simple and uncomplicated setting and accompanying message. As a female, i do not find this advert offensive but I can relate to others who may find it hard to disregard the placement of Lennox Lewis. If a woman was put in his place asking the same question then would it not still provoke the same feeling? I know i would feel the same disregards to who was asking the question but this could be a possible flaw that they need to step away from should they want to step away from restricting their targeting opportunities. It brings the job to reality, a hard yet true and provocative message that really gets people thinking.

Gemma G - 17:35 10 November 2008

Just to note, this advert was part of a wide TV campaign featuring different celebrities and actors, both male and female, and different 'hardships' that they come up against. A few of the most famous celebrities used in this camapign were Bob Geldof, Lennox Lewis, Joan Bakewell and Patsy Palmer. Unfortunately, an analysis done by the BBC showed the answer to 'could you' is no. Figures showed a low number of new recruits as a result of this campaign, figures showing each new recruit as a result of this advert, cost 30,000 per head to recruit! Showing that maybe it wasn't successful at persuading people to join, but many of you have commented on how it makes you appreciate the hard job they have to do. Do you think this was also an original aim of the campaign? Does anyone have any different or unchanged opinions after watching this advert or others in the campaign?

rosie - 16:41 13 November 2008

maybe 30k isn't too bad IF it means they recruit the right kind of people and so improve quality of policing and reduce numbers being traiinned ....only to leave after a year or so??

Laura - 18:07 18 February 2009

Does anyone else think its good to see some unconventional celebrity endorsement? Not a bunch of big-names signing up to big-money contracts with a brand they may or not believe in, but credible names helping bring home the realities of a tough job to the masses. Not as glamorous as usual.

Paul - 20:41 16 January 2010

I think it asks the viewer if they are up to the challenge. Someone may watch this advert and think that, with the right amount of training and time, could become a police officer and rise to the task. It may be fair to say that the message impliments reverse psychology by almost saying that the viewer wouldn't be able to join the police and, consequently, enticing them to research the job further. The advertisement seems to also imply that even a boxer, supposedly very tough, wouldn't be able to join the police and then simultaneous invites the audience to join and - in a sense - be more tough than a boxer.

You must be logged in in order to write a review


Review this ad