Kingsmill Confessiona

RowenaA - 15:20 08 October 2009

I agree with Danielle; I do not think there are many people fretting over a sandwhich they stole years previously. All this series of adverts are literally just people eating other peoples sandwhiches but they try and fluff out this same scenario with odd cartoon clips, moving scenery and strange panominesque acting. They could have done something playing up on how women steal bits of men's sandwhiches like they supposedly do their chips or a well known steryotype to fit taking people's food. But i just think this whole confession thing is a bit silly really and as the uploader said, not relatable.

Matt Welch - 20:41 08 October 2009

The advertisement is a little bizarre and confusing in my opinion - so I can see why you couldn't relate to this ad. At first I wasn't sure whether to take the meaning of 'Kingsmill confessions' literally or not... After checking the website, I think it's safe to say that all they have is a load of actors and writers making fake confessions staged for the public to read. Confessions that are all a little too pathetic I agree, so I see why you may feel out-of touch with this ad. Though one confession I read just about caused me to snigger - a woman who claimed to be a vegetarian only when her husband wasn't cooking bacon sandwiches! I can't think why Kingsmill would really think people would come to their site and post about their mischievous going-ons with bread; so I suspect another motive perhaps? Or maybe I'm underestimating how many weird people there are out their who would actually take to this... Anyways...My first thought was that the ad wanted you to relate to a female/human infidelity, and the temptations that engage us all on a day-to-day basis. Listen out for the emphasis put on 'All alone' and ' How could I resist that soft white bread!' and ' I just had to have it!' It was almost like the woman, Sam, was playing the role of a weak willed human who is at the mercy of her inhibitions and temptations. Sam appears to take some sort of guilty pleasure out of doing this behind her husbands back ,and her tone suggests she is happy enough lying to her husband into believing that the bread is lost. So it appears to me as though Kingsmill are making white bread out to be some form of irresistible pleasure, and I think I can see why...I'm speculating here but, I can see where this idea fits, as it is fairly consistent in the 'Dan's confession' ad also. I'll try and explain what I'm getting at...In this modern day, with a mega-health trend sweeping the world - white bread seems to be as much of an indulgent product as it is a commodity these days. Steeped in fierce competition with it's - rival, healthy, whole grain brother . Perhaps Kingmill and their agency have come to this same conclusion? They are probably experimenting with new ways to reverse falling market share. As it must be hard for Kingsmill to differentiate their brand from competitors, as quite frankly, it's all been seen and done before -making if difficult get any real cut-through to consumers. There was never much risk involved with this in my opinion, so I can see why Kingsmill have taken a punt with this. I don't believe the idea is that ill-conceived, but the execution is very, very poor - and as you say, it is neither humorous nor cleverly scripted. So I guess I agree that you have a case of Kingsmill not being in touch with their consumers - but maybe we were simply not their target audience? Though for me, even if this advert had been excellently executed with an entertaining and witty script - I still don't think the concept of getting genuine confessions will ever serve them well in driving more consumers to their site. At the end of the day, they're selling white bread. When I'm in the supermarket looking for bread, all I want as a consumer is the softest white bread. They managed to sell the softness to me at around 11 seconds, so you could say the ad has done it's job. I'm not much of a loyal customer though, and I bet I'm not alone when I say I go into the supermarket and prod a few different brands of bread to see which feels freshest before picking a brand, as that's when bread is generally softest. I couldn't care less how they advertise it. They could plaster Ann Robinson's crusty old, surgery-ridden face all over the packaging of their loaves if they wanted to, I'd still buy it if it were the softest.

Gavin Mountford - 00:47 09 October 2009

I agree, and even as someone who would really like to champion M"C Saatchi after working their this summer, I think that they have failed miserably here. It seems that every brand under the sun is trying to engage their customers at the moment to maximise their contact with them at every touchpoint. This isn't a bad idea. However, I believe that brands need to realise that customers will very rarely do something just because they have been told to do it. The customers need to feel it necessary to engage or to see some kind of benefit coming from the engagement (this however brings up the debate of whetehr or not you are then turning yourself into a discount brand). For me, attempting to engage customers thorugh a 'Kingsmill Confession' seems extremely weak and it also sounds as if they commited to the idea of attempting to engage customers before thinking of how they would do this in a way that resonates with the audience. Maybe I'm just too distanced from the target audience and don't understand what it is that excites and motivates this audience into certain behaviour? I'm not sure? I understand that Kingsmill and M"C Saatchi wanted too try somethign new here but as musch as it may hurt them to admit, a good example of what I believe Kingsmill should have followed is the Hovis advert (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0ZlnMRflIo). Yes it's a tad cheesy and yes Hovis have the heritage to make this ad possible. But I beleive that the depth of brand that this ad portrays will resonate very strongly with the target audience of mothers who do the weekly shop into buying Hovis as it is the lovely homely brand that they know will look after their family year after year.

Gavin Mountford - 00:49 09 October 2009

My mistake - wrong link for the Hoovis ad: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4tFzuFGUOI

Matt Welch - 02:16 09 October 2009

Yeah I tend to agree with bread being quite a homely, family product, Gavin. But do you not think consumers are a little tired of hearing this over and over, year after year? Especially as it won't differentiate them from he other major brands Warburton's " Hovis. They all have, if I'm not mistaken, a fairly even slice of the pie, currently. All in the region of between 10-20% market share each. Praise should go to Kingsmill for being bold and wanting to go with something a little new and different. However, unfortunately for them, the campaign has clearly been directed by a bunch of clowns that would struggle to make a cheshire cat smile. Kingsmill should have shown better judgement and sent them packing when this was brought to their door.

richard - 08:57 09 October 2009

i can add little to this discussion - a spot on initial review and some interesting follow up - i am impressed PLEASE do learn from this campaigns mistakes - buzz notions like engagement and user generated etc etc are only right at times and even then rarely succesful ...like you lot of have more to do than fret over the bread

Gavin Mountford - 12:21 09 October 2009

I definately agree Matt that it's better to try something different to create that USP for your brand. However, I believe that some products, most namely staple products such as bread and milk etc do not, and will not ever lend themselves to different and new positioning. If a completely different audience was being targeted, say students, then I could see how this could work. And maybe I'm patronising the female motherly shoppers and generalising a tad but I really do think that some brands shoud understand their place within society and the consumers mind. It must be really tempting for Kingsmill who see other brands within other industries making themselves more fun and engaging customers in new and innovative ways to get involved in this movement, but I think that they will do a lot better by just doing what they are good at and telling their audience exactly how lovely and soft their bread is.

Lennard - 12:25 09 October 2009

My only question is - why is the bread not toasted? Who eats white bread without toasting it? too subjective????

richard - 14:48 09 October 2009

too mainland europe lennard!!!

Gavin Mountford - 11:16 10 October 2009

These are actual confessions posted to Kingsmillconfessions.com: - by Tom "I nicked my brother's cheese " pickle sandwich and blamed the dog" - by Trish "I lock myself in the stationery cupboard at work so I can enjoy my favourite sandwich in peace and quiet" And they are some of the "confessions of the month!" My guess is that this isn't working out too well for them.

rosie - 11:07 13 October 2009

case proven!!

Danielle Locke - 14:29 02 November 2009

They seem to have made it worse with the new one, don't know if you guys have seen it. But it gets me even angrier. Watch it at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6YZHNYntKw First things first, the product is a great idea the 'little big loaf' concept is perfect, but it has largely been overshadowed by the frankly ridulous lack of attention to detail. The ad for starters implies that the couple live together, its not a one night stand. So the sheer fact that she see's him cuddling her as a bad thing shows that they have largely failed to do any research on their target audience what so ever. If in fact he is supposed to be a one-night-only kinda thing, then why they have so poorly depicted it is beyond me. Secondly, if you were going downstairs to make a bacon sandwich, you'd ask the other person, or they would follow you, simple. I think M"C Saatch are clutching at straws to create a mountain out of a molehill so to speak. And lastly, the most annoying thing about this ad, and oh yes it does get worse, is the voice over. The UK is jam packed full of Gavin and Stacey fans, so much so that they made a Christmas special and had a number one single. So why oh why do this agency think they can get away with whacking her extremely recognisible voice in as the voice of an actress that no one recognises. Perhaps they couldn't afford her, or she took one look at the script and thought she'd be better off not associating her face with this shambles of a campaign.

You must be logged in in order to write a review


Review this ad